The Hague (Den Haag in Dutch) is a city in the west of Holland (The Netherlands), which is the government city, but not the capital (which is Amsterdam). It is also the capital of the province of South Holland. Bounded on the northwest by Wassenaar, on the east by Leidschendam-Voorburg and Pijnacker-Nootdorp, Westland south-east, the south with Delft and Rijswijk southeast.

The municipality covers an area of ​​98.20 km ² (of which 82.43 km ² correspond to land and the remaining 15.77 to water) and a population of 485,818 inhabitants (1 June 2009). It includes among others the former fishing village of Scheveningen, where a port.

Its metropolitan area has about 700,000 inhabitants and represents the third most important core of Randstad after Amsterdam and Rotterdam.

The Hague is the seat of the Dutch government and major international courts of the United Nations.

The Hague pictures